



Dave North
President & CEO
Sedgwick

Dave North is Sedgwick's president and chief executive officer—a position he has held since 1995. Under Dave's leadership, Sedgwick has grown from a boutique, regional third-party claims administrator to the premier global provider of innovative business solutions in the areas of workers' compensation, disability, absence management, property loss adjusting and more. Sedgwick has more than 15,000 colleagues in 275 offices in the U.S., Canada, U.K. and Ireland who take care of people and organizations by delivering cost-effective claims, productivity, managed care, risk consulting and other services.

Dave has over thirty-five years of experience in risk management services. He is a frequent keynote speaker at national and industry conferences and events. In 2016, EY honored Dave with its Entrepreneur of the Year Award for the Southeast U.S. Region. In 2017, *Business Insurance* recognized Dave in its 50th Anniversary Edition and celebrated him as one of the individuals having the most significant influence on the industry in the last 50 years. Earlier in 2018, Dave received the CLM Lifetime Achievement Award for the profound impact he has had on the claims profession.

Dave previously developed and taught the American Management Association course on Advanced Risk Management Strategies: Managing the Total Cost of Risk. In 2002, Dave was recognized by Business Insurance as one of the 35 "Rising Stars" in insurance worldwide. And, he co-authored the book *The Art of Self-Insurance*. Dave has served on the board of the Workers' Compensation Research Institute and is past chairman of the board of the Integrated Benefits Institute.

Dave is currently a director for The Institutes and a member of the Business Insurance Women to Watch Advisory Board. In 2016, Dave was appointed by Gov. Bill Haslam to serve on The University of Memphis's newly chartered Board of Trustees. He previously served on the university's Board of Visitors and concurrently serves on the University of Memphis Foundation Board and the President's Innovation Board